Dual-language servers

Servus (edited to add: I mean Fusl, my mistake 🙂 ) asked what we thought about the idea of dual-language servers for Europe. ie. the idea that Order could be English speaking and Destruction German for example. (Thanks for writing, it was a good question and just to be clear: GOA are not planning any of these, it’s just a hypothetical question.)

I think that the idea of an English vs German or German vs French server would not be good for European Unity 🙂

I’m not personally keen on anything that would encourage Real Life jingoism and nationalism in my game. We get enough of that in the real world, and I like that on EU servers I can play alongside different nationalities. On the game mechanics side though, it would largely resolve the issue of players being able to communicate across faction. Apart from those pesky bilinguals of course.

What I’d love to see though is a version of Bloodbowl in the game. I’m really hoping Mythic find a way to do that in some expansion or other. I could get behind national teams in that. But being in a game where I have to fight Destruction because they are French in real life … nah, do not like.

And if you think that’s bad, imagine just for a brief moment a server on which one side was European and the other side American.

5 Responses

  1. I agree with Spinks, I think splitting servers this way would cause more ill-feeling rather than increase camaraderie on individual sides.

  2. One side EU, the other side US? That sounds like a bloodbath indeed. I agree with you, it would be a better idea to mix the languages/get single-language servers.

  3. Servus (<– this is not a name, it`s a common greeting in southern germany, bavaria)

    I`m really not into nationalism or jingoism (thanks for teaching me a new word) or something like this in any form, rather i would play on the english destruction side and kick the butts of my german orderfriends:-)
    I just thought of it as bringing an even greater sense of competition in the RvR-Game. But yeah, a lot of people would soon forget about the fun thing and then i don`t want to be a comunity-manager when the flame-wars start to get ugly…

    p.s. WAAAGH!! Bloodbowl

  4. Oops, sorry Fusl. I’ll edit the post to give the right name. I speak a bit of German but never knew much about bavarian.

  5. “What I’d love to see though is a version of Bloodbowl in the game”

    Me too

Leave a Reply

