Living with the NDA

As you can probably guess from the subject line, we’re playing the beta at the moment. (OK, not precisely at this moment, although I may try to write a blog post next time we’re in game and see how long it takes Arb to notice.)

I have a much better understanding now of why some of the other guys in beta have been chafeing at the NDA. I haven’t cancelled my pre-order and I’m looking forwards to playing the game when it goes live, not that kind of frustration. Just that I have to think twice about every post in case I accidentally mention which class I’m enjoying or some other detail which doesn’t quite fall under the restriction of, “There’s a beta. And I’m in it.”

I’m sure you all feel our pain. It’ll be over soon.

But there are some practical issues in guild also. People getting over-excited and needing their posts moderated (I do this, the screwing up on posts bit not the moderation — sorry about that.) Can’t use the guild forums to discuss the beta, even to organise when we’re going to meet up. However, if you check out the latest Guild Highlight from Mythic you will spot a tab labelled Calendar. Without distressing the NDA, I’ll merely comment that since this is /guild/ beta you can judge for yourself what might be under test.

As far as this blog goes, you may have noticed that we’ve been relying more on filler recently. Not that it isn’t all astounding quality and of terrific interest! Just we’re a bit more cautious now about writing WAR specific posts. I’ve also been referring more to examples from other games in what I’ve written recently. There is, by the way, some cool stuff coming up later this week. I mean apart from the July newsletter.

The other reason we’ve been a bit quiet here is that we’re actually playing more. So getting more into the swing of blogging and playing a game, rather than mostly blogging (or chatting about the blog). If you look at things that way, it’s pretty good practice for us 🙂

When the NDA comes down, we will of course share our thoughts. Extensively. And that will likely include information and suggestions that other open beta players might find helpful. We’re not planning to write guides and there are two … no make that three … main reasons for that:

1/ What’s the point in writing a guide where a lot of things might still change before the game goes live? It can’t take long to drop in some extra quests, adjust the levelling curve, or tweak the stats on some loot if Mythic decide to change things. So guides require a certain amount of upkeep.

2/ I’m very much an explorer type, and I’m really not keen to ruin the fun for people of finding things out for themselves. Sure, if the in game instructions are obscure or non-existent then guides are a great idea. But really, anything we can find out in a week or two of playing doesn’t need a guide written about it. I seriously don’t understand why anyone would ever need a guide to level from 1-10.

3/ Other people will be writing awesome guides, drawing maps, and producing amazing WAR related websites. Why reinvent the wheel? We’ll link to the ones we like best, and if we don’t like them we’ll let you know why.

Meanwhile, we’ll be blogging …

5 Responses

  1. I’ve been feeling your pain for about 5 months now! 😛

    The guides I’ve been working on shouldn’t require too much upkeep, however, the Greenskin leveling guide I am working on will be updated in real time. As in, I won’t get overly specific on things until the game releases and I’ve completed the content first.

  2. There is something worse than playing and unable to write about it… not being able to play at all 😉

  3. I am into a guide, but more of a guide as how I learn and grow as I level my Engineer (or whatever class I might play if another)

    The real good blogs are more about learning and showing that they are good at their class on how they play and how they are having fun.

  4. Welcome to the other side! Is there a European server for beta, or are you on the same servers as us in North America?

  5. Separate euro servers, sadly.

Leave a Reply

