Spoil this!

So it’s been a quiet day on the blog front, probably because everyone is expecting an NDA drop imminently and has lined up lots and lots to post as soon as it does. (I fear Syp’s promise of ‘one post a minute’ precisely because I’m absolutely sure that he’s able to do it!)

One thing I do wonder about is spoilers. I’m not spoilerphobic myself but you do get a very different experience of a game, book, film, etc if you play through without the spoilers and discover everything for yourself. There have certainly been times in Warhammer when one of us discovered something that made everyone laugh. Some of this is cool hidden tome unlocks, Massively gave a good example of one of these with their elf coverage and I rather appreciated that they didn’t go on and pick out a few more.

How do you feel about spoilers? We all know that very soon just about everything knowable about the game will have been neatly collected on various websites, will you go look things up or do you prefer to find out for yourself?

9 Responses

  1. Am I a terrible completionist? Yes.

    Am I going to haunt the inevitable game wikis and pointers? No.

    Spoliers wont bother me unduly, but there is something fun about discovering a hidden thing that perhaps everyone else already knew, but that was for you a big uncovering.

  2. Well I have to clean house today, so maybe I exaggerated just a tad. Besides, there’s still a month between now and release to post all this stuff, so no huuuge rush.

    But I have a present for you Spinks!

  3. I promised myself not to post anything like, Tome unlocks or quest chains and how to do them. I don’t like guids or spoilers. I am an explorer and I want to be shocked when I find someting new. That is the greatest thing about new games. You can go out and explore and not have to worry about people linking the quest rewards for what you are doing in General chat. I want to run in blind and come out not dead.
    I will post my feelings and what I like and don’t like. I am a sensitive kind of guy! So, if I see a post that says, ” Levels 1-10 explained”, or ” Your first 100 Tome unlocks”, I will shut the page down.

  4. Man, she gets all the presents!

  5. I will read about the Ruepriest and maybe their mechanics / playstyle and things in general about how the game plays / graphics. I will avoid any and everything to do with Tome unlocks / pq’s and quest as I want to experience and enjoy that moment just as the tester probably did and not ruin it to much by reading all about it…

    I am actually hoping Arbitary rights up a RP article as I remember her saying it was her class of choice and I would love to hear her opinions šŸ™‚

  6. ooops typo…. would help if I had the owners name right šŸ™‚ soz …Arbitrary

  7. hehe I spell it that way myself a lot.

    I have a feeling that if I were to write anything on RP, it wouldn’t be too much of a guide!

  8. I’ll tell you, I never go out on the internet and look up anything about a quest unless I’ve beaten my head into the door trying to figure it out first šŸ˜‰ I love finding new things out for myself. That’s not to say I don’t read class guides or use maps, but I’d prefer to figure out where the trick candelabra is for myself, thanks šŸ˜‰

    I do like things like skill trees though because I don’t want to gimp myself. I’m not a min-maxer and I will march to my own drum, but I still want to know where I’m going with the character.

  9. Wotcha everyone,

    When I’m in the discovery phase of a game, I hate spoiler sites. I have even been known to grump at people linking stuff in chat, or “volunteer” information, so they can show off.

    Having said that, I find it hard to censure people who are inadvertantly spoiling because they are just excited, and want to share the cool thing they’e just discovered.

    Hmm. I may have to ponder this one…

    Cheers,
    Hawley.

Leave a Reply

