It’s the only way to fly!

They gave us some templated chars towards the end of the closed beta phases. We started at rank 31 and renown rank 25 chars, and they gave us enough gold for me to bully a guildmate *cough* (Hawley) into giving me enough to buy my ‘mount’ – a gyro-harness.

Then, I spent half an hour (literally), hovvering everywhere, listening to the whirry blades and having a whale of a time. It’s my fave mount so far in any game. Seriously.

And from the pictures and screenshots, I had no idea how fun it would be to hovver around, my little dwarfy legs all a-dangle. It’s quite fun to jump and then land on something with it too. It’s completely and utterly sold me on a dwarf char, and I actually thought it might put me off when I saw it initially.

 

I logged back on the next day and zoomed around on an empty road with it (bear in mind I wake up at crazy o’clock and there were no nasty Destruction players for me to behead with my blades – oh, if only I could. I’m a bloodthirsty gal at heart!), but I discovered a keep and a battlefield objective and all the time my full attention was on my gyro-harness.

Nice work Mythic!

[I have to admit, that 10 gold was the best “investment” I’ve ever made in an online game.  The general level of “squee!” was most definately high.  And watching Arbitrary fly about the place, buzzing everyone or everything that came near, was the highlight of the night for me – Hawley]

5 Responses

  1. Everyone else made alts and sent themselves the 10g 😉 The gyroharness does look great though!

  2. Ha ha, bullying is just easier. And I did pay the money back!

  3. I absolutely cannot wait to get mine. I doubt Id be able to play enough on the last day of the preview to get one, but I’ve seen NPCs sporting them.

    Still, all hail the beercopter. It’s presence was enough to convert one of my friends from WoW to WAR \o/

  4. My only issue is currently the sound of the gyroharness, it grates after a while. I must admit I did not like the idea of this mount at first, I have slowly come around to it. All I need I think is for the sound to be a little less intrusive and I think my conversion may be complete.

  5. Aww.. I have to say when I saw the gyrocopters in action, i was very tempted to make a dwarf!

Leave a Reply

