Tinker, Tailor, Shaman … Witch Hunter?

Wotcha everyone,

Just so you all know, I’m just having a lovely brew, and having a cogitate about what to do in the open beta phase.

Should I just use Open Beta as a dry run for release?  Should I create a Warrior Priest and level up?

Should I create a class I wouldn’t normally have, such as an Ironbreaker, and see how other classes play?

Or should I ignore Order completely, and play Destruction for a week?

All three have their benefits, and their penalties.

Playing a Warrior Priest means I’ll be playing the early levels for a third time at release, and maybe that’s one time too many for it to be classed as fun.  But it does mean I’ll have practiced it enough to get out of the early levels with a minimum of fuss and bother, hopefully meaning I can out-pace the masses through the starter areas…

Playing Destruction will mean I can try out that Shaman I’ve had my eye on (skull as hat!), or follow a slinky, well-formed Witch Elf bottom around for a week (for testing purposes only, of course), but also means that the “mystique” of my enemies will be lessened.  I will understand a little more about their skills, quests, and items.  It will make them less…  alien.

So I think I’m going to choose what’s in the box.  I shall hold an audition of sorts, for my initial alts.  I generally try and get two or three characters up to maximum level, and usually have a number of other alts at varying levels.  I find it gives me more options regarding grouping up and doing stuff in game.

I already know that I want a Warrior Priest, an Engineer, and an Archmage.  So now is the time to find out what else is cool.  I’m thinking Witch Hunter (because I’m shallow, and they look great), and Swordmaster (because I do, at times, enjoy tanking, and the Swordmaster seems to have a cool mechanic).

Brew’s over.  Time to get the kettle on again.  God bless tea!  But hey, if anyone has a reason to try another class out, just shout it out…  😉

Cheers,
Hawley.

5 Responses

  1. One thing you might want to do is play some other “enemy” classes a bit to see how they play and what you feel their weaknesses are.

    I played 2 classes in WoW, and I always found it really fun to fight the other class I knew well.

  2. If you are like me, I get VERY SICK of the beta and leveling the same thing only to have it deleted.

    My advice, stay clear away from ANYTHING you will play when it goes live

  3. Personally I have tried out 10 of the classes to around level 5-7.
    I know I ma not a melee person, but can handle it on certain toons.

    The Swordmaster didn’t look promising to start, but after level 7 they really become great.

    The magus are interesting but the Bright Wizards are just fun, their spell and animations are somewhat mind blowing when you see it on your own computer.

    So there’s a few suggestions for you 🙂

  4. Swordmasters look fab in a flashy elfy-goodness way. Witch hunters look good in a dodgy-bloke-hiding-in-dark-alleys kind of way.

  5. Swordmaster is awesome. I played a WoW warrior for the past 4 years…Swordmaster is the way a warrior should be. Magus is awesome too, just don’t buy into the RDPS label it got stuck with…it rewards unconventional play.

Leave a Reply

