Swoooosh!

Wotcha everyone,

Well, I am “with job”.  I went for an interview last week, got the offer, so now I’m just waiting for references and all that stuff to be sorted, and for a human resources department to stop playing “Solitaire” long enough to get all the paperwork sorted.  Many of my friends think that this employed state has a metaphorical status equivalent to the second horseman getting his saddle ready, and telling the fat lady to start singing.  Many of them have taken it as a sign that the world *will* actually end when the switch is flicked…

Why am I boring you all with this?  Well, I’m now getting my life in order, sorting out a move to be nearer THE JOB, and generally stressing because I live with chaos, and I’m just not organised enough to handle this sort of thing easily.  And that means I’ve hardly been in the Open Beta.

But hey, I’m sure you’re all having too much fun with the car-crash that was our own little Super Sunday.  And that right now, news is probably infinately more important than a few comments along the lines of “Swordmaster go swooooosh with sword!  It fun!”

So I was only involved peripherally with everything that’s been happening.  In a “the gaming pc is doing it’s thing downloading the patch whilst the other pc is sorting my life out” sort of way.  I feel really bad for all the people who wasted their Sunday in a futile attempt to get into the Open Beta, though;  my heart goes out to you plucky lads and lasses.  When hordes of zombies are unleashed, you’re the people I want on *my* team.

However, this might all become moot when the Hadron Collider is switched on.  I can’t help commenting on it, it’s too much fun. I must admit, I’m in the “THE WORLD WILL NOT BLOW UP!” camp.  We’ve had the specter of Mutually Assured Destruction over our heads for 50 years;  it’s a hell of a lot easier starting nuclear war than it is to create a world-eating black hole, and we’ve beaten the odds so far…

Of course, if there’s one thing the hysteria has done, it’s let me look at the world in a fresh, new way.  The sun (what there is of it) is brighter, the colours fresher, and the time I can spare to get in the Open Beta for a few minutes of *Swooooooosh!* is probably all the more enjoyable for knowing that we might not survive as a planet until launch day.

However, I do feel that I can repeat “THE WORLD WILL NOT BLOW UP!” with impunity.  Because, let’s face it, in the hours it will take for a man-made black hole to grow large enough to kill us all, people will be too busy running round screaming (with their hair on fire no doubt) to turn to me and declare;  “Well Hawley, you sure fucked up that call”

Cheers,
Hawley.

8 Responses

  1. First mistake. Eating chocolate and reading “Swordmaster go swooooosh with sword! It fun!”

    Second mistake. Continuing to eat chocolate while reading the rest.

  2. Conga-rats on thw job!

  3. I really am the typist of lose 😦

    Well, I hope the sentiment got through anyway!

  4. I can’t help but picture the opening fifteen minutes of Half Life whenever I think of the Hadron Collider experiment. *gulp*

  5. @ Bards – you win a very very special prize for giving me the perfect excuse to post this: http://www.joystiq.com/2008/09/09/terrible-news-gordon-freeman-spotted-near-large-hadron-collider/

  6. Hah! Brilliant!

  7. Fantastic 😀

    I still love the one you sent me earlier
    http://hasthelargehadroncolliderdestroyedtheworldyet.com/

Leave a Reply

