Expansion vs New Game

So the big news this week is that Warhammer is shaping up to be a great success (EA shipped 1.5 mil boxes which is a sign of confidence any way you look at it), and WoW announced a release date for their next expansion. There are other MMO expansions coming too in November: LOTRO and EQ2 are also due to release some around that time. (EQ and AC have expansions coming up too, for the old skool players out there.)

WoW and LOTRO are both taking the same approach to their expansions. New areas that players will get excited about for thematic reasons, 10 new levels, lots of new shinies, and after that … probably more of the same as the current endgame, but shinier. They both also offer new classes to players as well.

And if you have been playing any of these games already, that means there is a choice coming up. New game vs expansion? New friends vs old ones? Is it possible to play more than one MMO without feeling shortchanged in both? And how hard is it really to dump an old character that you may have sunk months or years of work into?

Pros and Cons of Playing Expansions

The great bonus of playing an expansion when you already know the game is that you already know the game. Presumably you like it. You’ve sunk a lot of time into it, you know all the little tricks and strategies. you like the lore and the geography and know your way around. And you have friends there. Probably a guild. You have alts, and tradeskills and lots of in-game cash. You have reputation with all the important factions. These are things you worked hard on and you are reluctant to throw them away. Also being offered more of the same is great when you know you liked it in the first place.

Much as people claim not to be interested in lore, in practice it means that they don’t like reading quest text. Most players are vaguely attached to the lore, at least the bits they have personally experienced in game. Some games do better than others at immersing players into their game worlds, but a big draw of an expansion is to see what happens next, and to get involved in it.

The downside of an old game is that the player community tends to get more elitist. I remember what WoW was like when it first went live. The player community now is less welcoming, more judgemental, more likely to know how the game works and more likely to comment on when other people are ‘doing it wrong.’ How fun is it really to mess around with new classes and abilities when in the back of your mind you are worrying about whether you are good enough to play with your friends?

A sign of this is from my old WoW guild, who are great. They were involved in a casual raid alliance with no class quotas, no attendance restrictions, very basic DKP. And they’ve decided that they need to tighten up for the next expansion, and will be introducing all of those things. With a hint of ‘if you aren’t good enough or we have too many of your spec, you’ll be asked to sit out.’ Its a perfectly reasonable way to organise and I wish them luck, but if I was still playing I would be fretting over which alt to level and whether it would be a spec that could get raid spots. I personally find that stressful but I know a lot of people enjoy it. More to the point, the game encourages it. The game forces people who want to raid to get elitist, whether they want to or not. LOTRO doesn’t have quite the same issues but still … every time a game introduces a new class, people get nervous about how the play balance will work out. Will the new class replace them? How will things work out? And uncertainty of whether your friends will still want you around in game (even if it is a silly thing to worry about because, hey, they are your friends!) is not fun.

And what if you hadn’t played the game before?

An old game has huge barriers to entry. Even if the game itself is newbie friendly, the player base may not be after a few years. And each expansion introduces new complexity into the game to keep the existing players busy. In many cases, Devs try to make an easy learning path for new players with every new complex system that they introduce. It doesn’t always work. If you were new to the genre also, playing an old game could seem overwhelming. That is, if you could even find anyone to play with in the starting zones.

This is one of the great things about introducing new classes in the way that LOTRO is. A lot of old players will want to pick one up, it provides lots of press, and newbies will have more people to group with. The fact that WoW is starting the Death Knights at level 55 shows that they are not really aiming this expansion at new players. The game is about as newbie friendly as it is ever going to get, they are more about retaining existing players and getting ex-players to resub these days.

I know that a lot of people bitch about getting new levels with each expansion because it means that they have to throw away most of the achievements of the current expansion and start again. The upside is that it means that devs can keep the complexity manageable. It gives them a way to reset the endgame cleanly, give everyone an even start, and let players feel that they are on a level playing field again. For awhile at least. The alternatives are more tricky. Different advancement paths do add a layer of complexity to the game. Letting people forever build on old achievements makes the game more stratified and makes it harder for new players to catch up.

The great thing about a new game is that the in-built stratification simply isn’t there yet. Everyone starts equal. Everyone has to learn at the same time. And people are motivated to be more social in a new game because the server community is just being built. It’s a chance to be in at the ground floor. And in many ways it’s the most fun time for any game. People are less likely to have fixed ideas about classes and how to play them. Enjoy it, it won’t last long.

I’m quite intrigued about why Matt@Bloghammer decided that he preferred to play the Wrath Beta to the WAR launch. Dude, you’ll be playing it again in two months time anyway, and it’ll be less buggy then! Meanwhile, you’re missing the most fun part of any MMO.

Playing 2 MMOs Side by Side

I’ve never really been able to do this. My husband is a huge fan of CoH which does seem to be very casual friendly. He happily logs in to his one man supergroup and finds PUGs when he is bored. In many ways, it is an ideal backup game (just wish I liked it more, I love a lot of the design).

The reason I have issues is because the MMOs I like reward intensive play, both mechanically and socially. You play a game a lot, you’ll meet more people and they’ll get to know you. You’ll make more friends, get more involved in whatever is going on. Log on once a week and no one will know who you are. Mechanically, if you want the flashy gear and the great reputation, you need to put in the hours.

It’s possible, of course, to play casually, but you are going in from the start knowing that you may not be able to do some of the really cool stuff. Its not meant for players like you and that can be offputting, depending on how good you are at setting your own goals and enjoying what is available rather than fretting over what isn’t. You could instead just play a single player game where you set your own pace and can accomplish anything the game allows. Single player games don’t lock you out in the same way. It might be possible to play one game casually and one intensively, if your time management skills are very good.

There is also the possibility of playing one intensively now, and then another intensively in a few months time. Hopefully the period of intense play would let you level one character and fit it out to a point where you could then start to play casually (ie. in WoW, just log in on raid nights, etc.)

I think a lot of people will be levelling quickly in WAR with a view to doing exactly this. Hoping that by the time the new expansions come out, their WAR character will be at a point where they can log in less regularly but still keep up with friends. From what I’ve seen, the game would be quite friendly to that playstyle. You can certainly participate in guild PvP nights without too much trouble.

For me, I’m planning to play through Lich King when it comes out. But I’ll be playing casually and mostly solo (or in duos). My main goal is to try out a Death Knight and see the levelling zones because I always did think that those were the strongest aspects to WoW. Having seen WAR, I have no real interest in WoW PvP or endgame raiding. WoW for me will just be filling the gap until Diablo III comes out.

And I’ll plan to keep playing WAR — I’ll never be as hardcore as I was previously in WoW but that’s a good thing and I think the game supports it.

4 Responses

  1. I’m going to be keeping up City of Heroes if only for my friends. I’ve hit the level cap 5 or 6 times with a handful of characters near it again. I don’t mind doing it for them.

    However you are right, the first few days are the best ones and passing them up for a buggy beta? I’m sorry, no competition.

    That said, it’s Thursday I’m most interested in seeing as that’s when we get the people who have had absolutely no contact whatsoever with the game previously.

  2. This is pretty much how I will be doing it as well. I plan to play Warhammer Online until a few days before WOTLK is released (so that I can level my level 66 Blood Elf Hunter to level 70) and then get back to WoW.

    Because, much as I enjoy WAR, it just isn’t as polished and streamlined as World of Warcraft. With the exception of a few features (like Public Quests and the Open Group system) the PvE of Warcraft is superior to that in Warhammer. WAR will be my go-to game for PVP, though, since that is the area where it really excels.

  3. Boo, remind me that the first few days are the best, why don’t you?

    As everyone probably knows I have Moria on pre-order. But I don’t intend to rush WAR before it releases. Moria will hopefully end up being a distraction from WAR, something to do as a change of pace and because I love my char and my friends and guild there. And I have a lifetime sub, which helps.

  4. I am enjoying Warhammer at the moment although I have not had a lot of time to play. I am debating on playing WOTLK simply because of the grind from 70-80 and more quests and goodies to keep me busy. Same design, same pvp system (maybe wintergrasp will succeed?), same endless honor grinds, new expansion. If Warhammer provides me with that guild-pvp experience that I crave so much then WAR will be my new home! Besides, I started my own blog (www.dailywarhammer.com) based on Warhammer. I think I have to play it 🙂

Leave a Reply

