Stonewalled or Just Stoned?

I was intrigued to see that you can get titles for being killed by different careers as well as for killing them yourself. As I was playing my Archmage, I was wondering what title a Destruction player might get for being killed by me. Well, not me personally, although I think ‘Plinked by Spinks’ is a title that anyone might be proud of. So I thought, it can’t be that hard to check that.

Enter the sacrificial Witch Elf! I decided it would be easier to get myself killed as a melee class with no armour on so I created a Witch Elf on a random server, queued myself up for Khaine’s Embrace, and got stuck into some quests. I didn’t have to wait long. The scenario popped and we trotted up to the nearest flag point. But it was not Calexis’ destiny to stand about defending a flag, she had a mission! So I set off through the tunnel towards the Dance of Swords and some of my hapless team-mates followed me, probably thinking that because I was moving I must have a plan.

Then there was daylight and … yes! The unmistakeable flutter of Archmagely dresses in the distance. I sprinted forwards and tickled one of them with my daggers of level 1 awesomeness. Five different rainbow beams hit me from different directions, but I died happy, and became ‘The Hexed’.

While I was waiting to release back to the starting point, I thought to myself, “Self, that was too easy.” And then I started to wonder about other similar titles. For example, what do you get if a Runepriest kills you? How do you get a Runepriest to kill you?

And this became my Witch Elf quest: to get myself killed by a Runepriest. This was definitely harder because the ‘run ahead of the zerg’ tactic was more likely to get me killed by a Bright Wizard or Archmage, and there weren’t that many dwarves in Khaine’s Embrace in the first place. So I had to try to pick out any Runepriests in the opposite team and somehow make myself look like a tempting, easy target. But without getting sniped by a non-Runepriest first. That was the difficult part.

But eventually, I managed to lure a lone Runepriest away from the others by enticingly presenting my semi-wounded self in his field of vision and throwing a couple of daggers at him. As you can see in the screenshot, the title is ‘The Stonewalled.’ Are there any titles you’ve done some investigative work for?

7 Responses

  1. I have done some (I don’t think all of them) naked quests. I have an WH that I use when the queue is too loong and on her I have “the Showoff”. I like that title…

  2. I don’t think I’ve killed too many people!

  3. Not really researched, rahter found by accident, but still a nice title worth working for. There is a snotling sleeping under a stone in the beggining of the highelf tier 2 zone. Above him is a rock, if you interact with the rock it will fall down and crush the snotling and give you the title “the silly”. Excellent fun, and slightly challlenging to get if you are a destruction player.

  4. That’s really funny, but I wish I hadn’t known that. Now I’m constantly going to want to let other players kill me so I can check out the titles. πŸ˜›

  5. I like My Titles

    The Litter Bug

    and

    The Lint Picker πŸ˜€

  6. I’ve been trying to get “Squig Bait” for a while now, but I can’t get one of those herders to kill me. At least I think that’s how you get it…

  7. I’ve had Squig Bait and a few others. When I’m up and running I’ll be sure to throw them out here πŸ˜›

    Also “The Pillaged” I think that’s from Marauders.

    I rather like “The Gourmand”

Leave a Reply

