Physician and Patient

Wotcha everyone,

I am the Healer.  Whilst Tanks might think they rule the battleground, and DPS might think they are gods, without me they are corpses.

That is my little bit of god complex out of the way.  I find that the arrogance that such a belief engenders helps focus me, and enables me to do a better job.  So it does vaguely annoy me when I hear that no Warrior Priests are healing.

Much has been said about Archmages, and the way that their grand gestures and sparkly effects light them up like Christmas trees bestrewn with little Renown filled presents for any Destruction characters in the area, but from my perspective, I don’t see much difference between twirling a staff and glowing and shoving your hammer in the air and glowing.

The only real difference is that when I do my poncey healing showing off, I’m stuck in the midst of the grand melee, with everyone *already* trying to smack me.

(I can’t really comment about Rune Priests; I believe they’re little healer show-offs too, but generally when they’re healing I’ve got my dander up, and am too busy annoying my neighbours by shouting “Sigmar!  Sigmar!” at the screen to notice them.  Sorry.)

So, this whole “keeping everyone alive” malarkey.  Well, I like to think I’m fabulous.  And the way I get to show how fabulous I am is by healing well enough that no-one dies.  In other games, this is easy (he says, nonchalantly.  I kill balrogs for fun, me).  Because most other games are designed as PvE games with PvP added to the mix, your pure and hybrid healers get big heals, flash heals, and heals over time.  Usually more than one of each.

Boy do I miss them…

Although I will admit, I do like the way that Warhammer Online is a PvP game with PvE added.  I can see why some of the design choices have been made; Nothing is more soul destroying than chipping away at someone, getting them most of the way to Mostly Dead, and suddenly they’ve been healed up to full.

Morale does let you have big heals, but they’re not that big, and they’re not that clever.  They most certainly can’t be spammed.

Instead, I get the ability to do damage, and heal at the same time.  Sort of novel, really.  But it does mean that whilst I get to show off with my hammer in the air (“Look Ma, I’m healing!”) most of the time when I’m healing, it’s not that noticeable in the midst of all the fighting.

It’s melee.  Weapons are flying all over the place, and every so often some ranged DPS decides to help out by lobbing some lovely particle-spamming aoe goodness in there.  Everyone’s adrenaline is up, and to be perfectly honest, I’d prefer it if the tanks and dps around me are doing their job of crushing my enemies, rather than watching their health bars.  Or looking for a little sparkly bit of healing goodness coalescing around their character.

So, all being well, you’re not going to die (or at the least, die slower), whilst I’m smacking Destruction in the face for Sigmar.  How will I do that?

I don’t see much point in giving out crunch here.  If you want crunch, there is a scary amount of scary statisticians feeding crunch to various sites on the interwebnet, without me failing to make any useful contribution to them.  So I’ll not bother with the numbers, but I’ll see if I can get some of the skill names right, at least.  Hopefully.

During closed beta, I preferred using a Path of Grace build.  I’d looked at Salvation a lot, but found that Grace allowed me to get in and mix it a lot more than Salvation.  I’d choose my tank, stand next to him, and by using Divine Strike and Sigmar’s Radiance (with the tactic Grace of Sigmar slotted) it meant that I could do quite a bit of group healing to the melee contingent around me without having to retarget.  If you’re within 10 feet of me, you get healed for a small amount every time I swing that hammer.  Add Sigmar’s Shield (for the next few seconds, you’ll get healed every time you’re hit), and you get a lovely damage mitigator that will eat my Righteous Fury, but there’s nothing to worry about, as I’ll be getting it all back again soon enough.

Prayer of Devotion also rewards a group for getting stuck in there (20% of the time, you’ll get a heal just for smacking something.  See?  Sigmar loves you too), and Divine Assault is also a good heal, and the nearest I can find to (and I laugh) burst damage that a Warrior Priest can do, even if Path of Grace doesn’t enhance it.

All of these heals can add up, in time.  At the very least, they’re great damage mitigation, allowing my Rune Priest and Archmage comrades the opportunity to get some healing in and save all our souls from a distance.

But in order for me to do that, I need to be in combat, swinging the hammer.  Same goes for other Warrior Priests as well.  So whilst it might not *look* like we’re healing you, we most probably are.

Cheers,
Hawley.

3 Responses

  1. My Archmage occasionally gets massively out-healed by a Warrior Priest, but 95% of the time they do half as much. Is there a secret to high healing output with a WP? Or are most just rubbish at healing?

  2. Great post! I love all the different nuances of the healers. What brings us all together is that all the melee think we aren’t healing them. Charts never lie my friends. When I come across the nay sayer, I always point them towards the scoreboard at the end of the scenario.

  3. Bodarim, you are so right!

Leave a Reply

