State of the Game

As promised, Mark Jacobs has made his State of the Game ‘address’ over at the Herald, meaning you no longer need use the one over at the R1ft!

Because you should really go and read it all in detail, I’m only going to quote a few highlights:

WAR is doing fabulously.We are one of, if not the, fastest selling MMORPG out of the blocks and we are also one of the most highly rated MMORPGs of all time.While the game is off to a great start, we still have a long way to go before we can declare WAR a major long-term success

I couldn’t leave out a quote that had ‘fabulously’ in, or Hawley would be mad!

Having done that, we can now move on to what we are going to do over the next couple of months, culminating with the release of patch 1.1 later this Fall.

Let’s start with what we know is some truly exciting news. ’m happy to announce that in December, the Black Guard and the Knight of the Blazing Sun will officially be part of WAR. We have very special plans around their appearance and in our next newsletter we will provide full details about that exciting and rather novel event.

Yay, that’s good news, and not entirely unexpected, but now we have a timeframe…

We will continue to enhance WAR’s mail system until it is one of the best mail systems found in any MMORPG.

Ah good, maybe time to get in my suggestion that guild invites should be able to be done via in-game mail!

In 1.1 (and beyond) we will be doing a myriad of things for our RvR players, including improving gear drops, increasing drop rates, and implementing an RvR-influence system to compliment the current PvE-influence system.

Interesting, but will reserve judgement! That said, it’s not like I won’t be RvRing, so it all helps!

Other changes for 1.1 include major additions to the chat system (item linking and more) as well as continued work on our targeting system, including adding Main Assist and Target of Target. n addition to the server balancing methods that have worked so well over the last week, we will also be offering the first server transfers to our players to continue to help even out the server populations…

Yay for main assist, I hope it gets to us before big changes in December. And yay for item linking in chat so I can show off my uber thing of thinginess! (that I got through my RvR influence, of course)!

The Combat and Careers team has spent the last month looking at the changes that they want to make with an eye towards making improvements and buffs, not removing or weakening abilities. I won’t go into details here but the vast majority of careers all have nothing but love coming their way.

Who doesn’t like love?

8 Responses

  1. Well, mine is still better. 😉

  2. omg, new tanks!! I’m stupidly excited given that I don’t actually want to play either of them.

  3. Daedren, I have to agree. Endless entertainment! Big props for your mad humour skillz!

  4. New tanks? I thought the KOTBS was a melee DPS. An elf that fights dirty even (I remember a quote like {and I paraphrase….} While they’re laugh at the plumes in my helmet, I’m kicking them in the balls).

  5. the best bit – it went up on the GOA site at the same time 🙂

  6. Wotcha everyone,

    Fabulous, just fabulous.

    And a hat isn’t a hat without a feather in it.

    Cheers,
    Hawley.

  7. […] Warhammer State of the Game: What Order needs Published October 19, 2008 Games , MMO , Warhammer I’m way too late to comment on Mark Jacob’s State of the Game post for Warhammer Online.  Others have already done an excellent job breaking his remarks down. […]

  8. I am pleased with Marks summary – but cannot help he has missed a large issue in the game and thats the lackof meaningful RvR – I understand his incentives, but do not feel they go far enough – I posted my thoughts on this http://karakhirn.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/where-is-the-rvr/ as i feel that the keeps seem to be pretty un-important, and certainly not the living hubs of your civilisation.

Leave a Reply

