Hello Slayer?

So Eurogamer got an interview with Mark Jacobs where they got to ask a bit more about the Hammerer and Choppa. And one of them ain’t coming back, Mark says:

“I can’t tell you which yet, that’s a surprise. We’re probably going to be replacing one and putting in another class in its place. But we’ll be talking about that in a few months…There will still be four going back in, it just wont be necessarily the same four.” ”ย 

And from Ten Ton Hammer:

Ten Ton Hammer: What are the next two classes going to be? Are you sticking with the Choppa and Hammerer?

Mark: Let me put it this way, I know what one of them is going to be, and I’m not 100% sure about the second.

Well, speculation was already high that the Hammerer might be replaced by the Slayer class.ย  Amongst those of us who speculate, of course. As long as Greenskins and Dwarfs get their melee DPS classes at the same time, I think things will be fine. And if Hammerers survive and Choppas mutate into something else, that’s all good too.

Let the guessing games begin!

14 Responses

  1. Oh wow, exactly this was discussed in guild chat yesterday. Hammerer isn’t way as cool as Choppa, and seeing the melee popularity on Destruction they really need to make some drastic changes. Slayer would be just perfect.

  2. Slayers on Order would seriously boost the Order melee numbers, I really hope this is the change hinted at…. fast forward a few months Yipeeee……

  3. Can anyone post a list or a website that I could review all possible classes/careers that are in the Warhammer universe?

    Thanks!

    -s

  4. Wotcha everyone,

    The slayer is a true icon of the Warhammer world. And even the first movie for Warhammer Online features one. Swapping out the Hammerer for the Slayer would get a huge thumbs up from me.

    Cheers,
    Hawley.

  5. Slayer = Me Leaving the IB behind if true.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. See I want to play a dwarf melee dps I do and the hammerer was great. Just what I wanted. Do I want to play a slayer?

    Sure but…. and here is the but…. do I want to play a slayer when every man or woman and their pet of choice has got one too? Then the answer is an emphatic no!

    My dilemma continues

  7. The hammerer didn’t really have anything to it – was just a melee damage class with no “mechanic”.

    The choppa had its (somewhat rubbish) berserk mechanic, which they could fix to be more fun – and it’d make sense to use a similar mechanic for a Slayer…

    I’d put my money on Choppa/Slayer.

  8. […] Book of Grudges points to interviews with Mark Jacobs hinting that is what’s coming. […]

  9. But surely, a ‘Slayer’ class pretty much trashes one connection to Warhammer lore?

    The whole point of the slayers is they are Dwarves who are so ashamed of something they did, or failed to do, that they are actively seeking a ‘glorious’ death in combat to balance things out. That can’t really work unless the Slayer class comes with perma-death, and I really doubt that’s on the cards!

  10. Mythic originally wanted to use the Slayer but couldn’t find a way to make the lore work. Slayers are dwarfs devoted to death in glorious combat and as such throw themselves at the enemy with no fear of death (which is fine), don’t wear armor (uhh . . .), and don’t own any material possessions beyond their weapon and a few trinkets (oops).

    It’s hard to make an MMO class that doesn’t collect gear and wants to die. How do you develop such a class from 1-40?

    That said, I’m not sure what else they could do without inventing an entirely new class (like they did with the zealot). Dwarf melee pretty much consists of Ironbreakers, Hammerers, Longbeards, and Slayers. Ironbreakers are in the game already, Longbeards are just veteran dwarfs (Hi, I’m a level 1 veteran?), so Hammerers or Slayers are it.

  11. I hope thay warhammer online slayer will be reality. I love that career. I play in warhammer RPG slayer and i whant slayer in WAR too.

  12. Perhaps instead of armor, Slayers will collect tattoos that give them powers. and their head gear will be a collection of nose/earrings and/or war trophies to show progression in the class, such as Troll heads, giant parts. I am excited! I was really lookin foward to having my eyes roll back into my head and bezerk on something ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. Daniel: Maybe you can practice on the cat while you’re waiting ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Ahaan… I will follow.

Leave a Reply

