Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to…

Wotcha everyone,

Spinks put up a link to this story from Gamespot, but here is the BBC’s version.

God bless the BBC.  Instead of the usual tabloid shocker of “Online Gamer in mass serial murder with ritualistic cannibalism!”, they put this lovely little cautionary tale of the perils of the online quicky divorce.

Now, this is still all part of the whole “Online Gamers being a bit strange” theme, but…  Well, I giggled.  It’s bad of me, because I am taking delight in not just one but two people’s misfortunes, but the strangeness of the situation almost demands it.  Obsessive behaviour in any way shape or form is bad for all involved, but to my mind Online Gamers are always far more interesting and zany when compared to other obsessives.

Aaaaanyway.  Back to the divorce.  Which got me thinking about Role-Playing relationships.  Personally, I don’t do it.  I did once try out the wedding thing in the original Fable.  I really got into Fable.  It may have been short, it may have had it’s flaws.  But I loved the story, and did find myself shouting “Oi!  Fuckface!  You killed my mam!” when it came to the final showdown with the bad guy.  Just before he got many arrows to the face, in fact.

Ahem.

So, even though I was that emotionally involved in the story, I still didn’t do the “your character can get married” thing.  I did the side quest where you get to put various silly haircuts and beards/moustachios on your character, and whilst doing it did the “flirt” emote at the lady hairdresser.  To the extent that she fell in love with my little fella (no, not that, you filthy lot!) and I did do the marriage thing (okay, so I’ve done the marriage thing once.  But read on.  And it was a single player game anyway, so it doesn’t count).  Hey, wife with a career, good for a bit of extra cash, I thought.  No, no such luck.  She retired, I had a change of mind about the haircut, so back a-reloadin’ we went, and the wedding was off.  Yes, I am the last of the (not) romantics.

I’ve never even dared to go anywhere near a “relationship” in an online game.  I’ll happily role-play about most things, but I run like a startled bunny when that sort of topic rears it’s head.  Does this make me a bad role-player?  Maybe it’s because some things are easy to draw the line with, but I’m worried that my emotions might run away with me, and I think there’s more to it than there really is.

Or even worse, the other person thinks there’s more to it.  Real life relationships are enough of a minefield, how does one navigate a pretend one?  And anyway, this is WAR now.  Do we have time to get all lovey-dovey when there’s zealots to chase around a scenario map?

Oh, wait, can Warrior Priests officiate at a wedding?  Or would you be better off getting in a Rune Priest?

Cheers,
Hawley.

6 Responses

  1. Of course Runepriests would be more appropriate.

    The Warrior Priest would smash couple with his 2handed Hammer just to get some RF 😉

  2. Getting married in game.. is a bit issshhhh 😛

  3. Warrior Priests are best for AoE weddings, but Rune Priests are better for single-target.

  4. Rune Priests. Quick, no nonsense and they bring catering.

    The catering would be mostly beer, but what a beer.

  5. a bit “isssshhhh”? lol what?

    I agree though the whole danger of getting carried away would be pretty hard to avoid on one side or the other. The only time I did one of those things was when the other person was actually my gf.. so I guess it wasn’t really role playing in the first place so it doesn’t count either.

  6. One thing I quite like about playing a black orc is that the issue of relationships never, ever comes up. 🙂 I leave the foofy, faux-romantic nonsense to the dark elves… orcs is all about smashin’ an’ nuffin’ else!

Leave a Reply

