PTS, and forums?

So America got their PTS yesterday and we get ours today. That’s business as usual. Nothing to see here (unless you want to go play on the PTS – public test server – in which case go read up on what you have to do!). The day delay is what we’re used to and it’s not bad at all, we can live with that.

Official forums also landed in the US yesterday with much fanfare on the Herald and the various Mythic tweets (ah twitter, how quickly you have become a marketing tool). Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t really care when Europe gets their forums. We know they’re underway. It just reminded me how sick I am of the whole split in the global community. A joined community would have fuller servers, equal treatment in terms of dev responses, etc etc. We don’t need to go over those arguments again.

And I don’t especially blame GOA for this. They had an opportunity to market and run WAR in Europe, and hey, it looked like a sure bet. I’d have taken that bet. They’re not responsible for getting devs to care what Europeans think, or to offer things like the unique Slayer/Choppa heads to Europeans too (I mean, even if I’d flown to NYCC, I couldn’t use the code). They’re responsible for bringing up these issues, but really all they’re in charge of is running the servers, website, forums and everyday stuff. Probably lots of marketing/promotion too.

And yet, the European playerbase is not insignificant. If they could have quoted player numbers separately, I’m sure they would have – but 300k Europe AND America. So we make up part of the whole when it comes to financial statements, but in terms of day-to-day play, it feels to me like I don’t really matter at all to Mythic. Just to GOA (for better or worse ;-p).

We’ll see.  There’s still hope we’ll get some European love sometime, and not just get Paul Barnett sent over to Games Day to smooth things over when a launch has gone a bit awry. I’m hoping to see devs regularly visiting the European forums (which will exist by then, oh yes), and for their to be European promotional events similar to Comic-Cons and Games Days and that we’ll get access to all the same in-game content as our American counterparts.

But anyway, ignore my grouchiness and go play on the public test server! I’ll be cheerful when my week of full-time work is done. Never let me volunteer for overtime again is the message here!!

[Quick edit: Mark Jacobs stopped by the Vault to say the US forums are in beta, and eventually they will be open to the public to view but not to post on, I’m betting that will be how it gets shrugged off that the devs don’t post on European servers!]

3 Responses

  1. Preach it!

  2. It would be nice if Mythic/GOA spent a bit more time in the UK. Apart from Gamesday we don’t see them here.

    I am sure the same could be said of other countries in Europe.

  3. From what I experienced on the US PTS last evening (~20 or so minutes), I was fairly impressed.

    -Updated graphics on many items
    -HUGE framerate improvement
    -Default UI is actually not that bad

    I’m anxiously awaiting the US Test Server to go back up and blog about some of my impressions.

Leave a Reply

