Mark Jacobs announces cutting out 4 cities, 4 classes

Second part of Mark Jacob’s interview with MMORPG.com is up, and it’s a doozy.

Main points of interest:

  • There will only be 2 capital cities when the game goes live. Altdorf and the Inevitable City.
  • 4 of the classes will not be in live because of balance issues. These are: Choppa, Hammerer, Blackguard, and Knight of the Blazing Sun.
  • Mythic are working with Punkbuster to counter cheats/ hacks etc.

My view is that it’s better to leave those things out for now rather than putting them in the game in a flawed version. But that won’t be much comfort to people who had their heart set on playing one of the booted classes.

“We tried,” Jacobs said, “we tried to see if we could make them better and we just couldn’t make them great. So we had a choice. Do we put in some non-great careers just because they are iconic, or we cut them out and put them in post-launch if we can get them right, or do we not put them in at all?”

Speaking about his relationship with the community, he adds:

“We’ve always believed that it is important to go to the community with both good news and bad,” he said. “Whether it’s the state of the games, or just talking in the forums, we’re professional enough to confront bad news head on and not try to hide it and not try to play games and wait until the last minute when people have already bought the game to tell them. We will not play those kinds of games.”

This is, however, good news for a possible September release. As Massively.com said a few weeks back, one of their concerns was whether the other cities would be ready in time. Well, that concern has now been addressed.

20 Responses

  1. Hmm, this is a bit puzzling.

    The Chosen and Hammerer were apparently going to be mirrored, so it makes sense that they’d both be dropped if they couldn’t make the mechanic fun.

    However, the KotBS were meant to be the Chosen mirror, and the Blackguard the Swordmaster mirror.

    If it works for the Chosen, it should work with the KotBS, right? Or perhaps they going to scrap one of the Chosen or Swordmaster mechanics and make them mirrors? Bye bye twisting or stance-dancing?

  2. Yeah, I wondered about the mirroring. Since I’m not in beta I don’t know how they work at the moment but I’m guessing there will have to be some tweaks to existing tanking classes so as not to give either side an undue advantage (ie. destruction not having an anti-magic tank).

  3. What is the point of Dwarf/Greenskin and Elf RvR if there is no goal on those fronts? I guess just the guilds will fight over keeps….

  4. Meh, I’m not so concerned with cutting out of those four classes – none of whom I was going to play. They can be added down the road. I don’t like the reduction in capital cities however.

    The WAR haters are going to have fun with this, unfortunately.

  5. @Werit

    I imagine that all RvR on the various fronts will just contribute towards a single pool of faction points. When one side hits a particular number, the enemy’s city can be contested.

  6. So… Orcs have no DPS, no capital city, and no capital city GOAL…

    HOW does this make the game better?

  7. They have said you must control 2 of the 2 zones to assault a city. More details to follow.

  8. I expect more information about the class drops to be let out next week as all the haters and flamers have a full weekend to post and troll away at the news.

  9. You would think those details would be released with said news as to prevent second guessing.

  10. Totally agree Werit. The whole things sounds extremely vague.

  11. Aww, I know people who had their hearts set on two of those classes.

    I’m a bit conflicted on this. In one way, I’d rather have the game in a good state, but I’d also be prepared to wait for at least the full set of cities/classes.

    I guess this’ll separate the fanboys from the critics though. But, I do applaud Mark’s bravery to come clean about this.

  12. There’s a lot of good and bad in this… I think it’s reasonable to gripe at Mythic for removing features at this stage of development when the last delay was for “polish and iteration”. Seems a bit heavy-handed for “polish”.

  13. I am worried this decision in the final stage of development is going to cost them quite a few of their player base.

  14. I agree Guerth, and am worried it’ll cost me some of my friends that were really excited to play the game. In fact, it’s actually got me quite depressed now.

    I really really would have preferred another delay to the game.

  15. I actually prefer the idea of fighting it out over just two capital cities, but I’d prefer they delayed the game than cut 4 classes, regardless of the fact that I was intending to play one of them!

  16. Well, that sorts the dilemma of which class to play for me. The amount of content that may be lost from the deletion of 4 capitals may be more problematic than the sudden loss of class choice.

  17. I have to put myself in Mythic’s shoes on thus one. It is such a hard blow, it must been a huge blow to them. Like they feel they let us down. The point is the company had heart and soul to do what is right. I love that. What I would have done would be different but I am not a CEO of a company that has Millions breathing down my neck for fall release. It must been hard to carry this set back.

  18. I ment the company HAS heart and soul. It is a tough unforgiving buisness. Think of AoC and how broken that is. Yeah they could have delayed again but weighing the results I think they did the right thing and it gives us many patches to look forward too. Ok I done defending Mythic.

  19. Don`t know why, but after the first “oh shit”-moment when reading the news, now I`m kind of happy about it…

    I`ve never thought about playing one of the four classes as my main, although I know how pissed I would be if that was the case. But that`s the main problem I see overall.

    2 Citys are allright for my at the beginning.
    Until enough people are max lvl and organized enough to start an serious siege and even will be ready to kill the king, it will take a bit of time. I would even bet that bevor the first King is dead on most servers, all 24 Classes will be completed.
    And just think about the excitement when another pair of capitals is introduced in the weeks bevor Christmas, happy Holidays!

    Besides the obvious downsides, the biggest and most important upside of this news in my eyes is… now for the first time i really believe in an release in September!
    This would never have been possible with 4 Cities nearly never shown to the public und many classes not ready for balanced combat.

  20. The rest of the content better be great, since they say they are polishing/focusing on the rest of the game now. If there is too many bugs/balance issues, they have made a grave mistake. They better not pull an AoC.

Leave a Reply

